Create a rule
To create a rule, please follow these steps:
1) Ensure you have selected the correct site reference from the top of the page. (Each rule created can only be assigned to one site reference)
2) Select the relevant action type from the drop-down box and click “Go”.
3) Use the drop-downs provided to assign a condition to an action. If this is the first time you have used the Rule manager, you will likely need to create new conditions and actions. Click the links provided on-screen to do this.
There are two types of rule identifiers supported:
Secure Trading Rules (STR)
Rules with a rule ID of “STR-x” (where x is a number) are Secure Trading Rules. e.g. STR-1
These are pre-defined rules that are available to all merchants and are displayed within the Rule manager interface. They can be activated and deactivated at any time on any of your sites. Secure Trading Rules cannot be modified or deleted.
User-Defined Rules (UDR)
Rules with a rule ID of “UDR-x” (where x is a number) are User-Defined Rules. e.g. UDR-23
These are rules created by MyST users using the Rule manager interface. These can be modified by the users that created them and deleted when no longer needed.
Activating and deactivating rules
Rules can be activated on any of your site references by using MyST. This can be used to easily apply rules to ALL of your processed requests, without having to make configuration changes on your side.
Rules can be activated/deactivated as required from the table on the lower-half of the page.
When a rule is first created, it will be shown as “Active” under the “Manage rules” tab, with a tick in the “Active” column. Rules can be deactivated by un-ticking the “Active” checkbox and pressing “Save” at the bottom of the page, and likewise reactivated by re-ticking the “Active” checkbox and pressing “Save”.
Rules can be deleted when required by using the table on the lower-half of the page.
Tick the “Delete” checkbox next to rule(s) you would like to remove from your site. When you are ready to delete the rule(s), press “Save”. The page will reload to reflect the changes made.
- The process of deleting rules does not delete the conditions and actions that they consist of. These have to be deleted separately.
- Any user who has access to the “Rule manager” page can delete user-defined rules on sites associated with their user account.
- You can only delete User-Defined Rules (ID starting with “UDR-“). You cannot delete Secure Trading Rules (ID starting with “STR-“).
Condition managementRule manager